BOARD OF REGISTRATION AND ELECTIONS

Board Established by: State

Description:

Pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 21-2-40, there was created the Fulton County Board of Elections and Registration which shall have the powers and duties of the election superintendent of Fulton County relating to the conduct of elections and the powers and duties of the board of registrars relating to the registration of voters and absentee balloting procedures. Established by Georgia Law, 1989, Act 250, this law effectively merged the functions of the former Board of Registrars and the Board of Registration and Elections to create this Board. Act 250 also provided that the members of the former Board of Registration and Elections would be the initial members of this Board, beginning in 1989.

HB 656 (Fulton County; board of elections and registration; revise manner of appointment of chairperson) – Representatives Jackson D-64 (City of South Fulton), Beasley-Teague D-65 (Fairburn) and Gardner D-57 (Atlanta): HB 656 authorizes the Fulton County Board of Commissioners to independently appoint the Fulton County Board of Registration & Elections Chairperson. Senate Passed/Adopted

Membership/Appointment:

The board shall be composed of five members, each of whom shall be an elector and resident of Fulton County, who shall be appointed in the following manner:

- (1) Two members shall be appointed by the governing authority of Fulton County from nominations made by the chairperson of the county executive committee of the political party whose candidates at the last preceding regular general election held for the election of all members of the General Assembly received the largest number of votes in this state for members of the General Assembly;
- (2) Two members shall be appointed by the governing authority of Fulton County from nominations made by the chairperson of the county executive committee of the political party whose candidates at the election described in paragraph (1) of this section received the second largest number of such votes; and
- (3) One member shall be appointed by the governing authority of Fulton County, which member shall be designated permanent chairperson of the board."

The appointment of each member shall be made no later than 30 days preceding the date at which such member is to take office by notifying the Clerk of the Superior Court of Fulton County in writing of the name and address of the person appointed. The Clerk of the Superior Court of Fulton County shall make a record of such notification on the minutes of the court, certify such appointments to the secretary of state, and provide for the issuance of appropriate commissions, within the same time and in the same manner as provided by law for registrars.

Term:

Two (2) years. New terms begin July 1 - APPOINTMENTS MUST BE MADE BY JUNE 1.

Compensation: YES Stipend: \$300/month-Chair/\$250/month

Meetings: Second Tuesday of the month

Contact(s): Richard L. Barron, Director

Registration & Elections 130 Peachtree Street, SW Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3450

404-612-7030

richard.barron@fultoncountyga.gov

Mr. Trey Kelly, Chair Fulton County Republican Party 5920 Roswell Road N.E., Suite A-208 Sandy Springs, Georgia 30328-4926 404-851-1444 (Office)

Ms. Lewanna Heard Tucker, Chair Fulton County Democratic Party P.O. Box 89202 Atlanta, Georgia 30312 470-788-8922

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	Mr. Aaron Johnson	Democratic Party Appointee-a Nominated By: Fulton County Democratic Party	6/30/2023
2	Dr. Kathleen Ruth	Republican Party Appointee-b Nominated By: The Republican Party	6/30/2023
3	Ms. Teresa (Terri) K. Smith Crawford	Democratic Party Appointee-b Nominated By: Full Board Appointments	6/30/2023
4	Mr. Mark Wingate	Republican Party Appointee-a Nominated By: Full Board Appointments	6/30/2023
5	Ms. Cathy Woolard	Chairperson Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	6/30/2023