ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE OF THE FULTON COUNTY DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN

Board Established by: County

Description:

The Board of Commissioners found that the public interest would be better served by expanding the membership of the DC Plan Administrative Committee and on February 6, 2008 to include representation from participants in the DC Plan, among others; that, pursuant to its existing authority under Sections 9.1 (a), 10.1 (a), and 12.1 of the DC Plan, the Board of Commissioners hereby administratively expanded the membership of the DC Plan Administrative Committee to nine (9) members (#08-0177/2-6-08).

Fulton County established the Fulton County Defined Contribution Plan (the "DC Plan") effective July 1, 1999 (#99-0857/6-16-99), which DC Plan provides certain retirement benefits for Fulton County officers and employees; and the existing DC Plan (Article IX, Section 9.1) provided that the DC Plan Administrative Committee shall consist of not less than three (3) members who were appointed by and served at the pleasure of the Board of Commissioners, with the initial Administrative Committee to be comprised of the Chairman of the Fulton County Board of Commissioners or his designee, the Fulton County Finance Director, and the Fulton County Manager.

At its Regular Meeting on May 1, 2013, the Fulton County Board of Commissioners amended the Fulton County Defined Contribution Plan by adding the following new sentence to the end of Section 9.3 of the Plan:

"Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Administrative Committee shall have the authority to make a recommendation to the Board of Commissioners for an extension of any existing contract with an investment advisor or custodian, without having to proceed through the County procurement processes described above."

Membership/Appointment:

Membership to this committee is as follows: Chairman of the Fulton County BOC or his/her designee (Position 1); two (2) members of the Fulton County Board of Commissioners other than the Chairman, who shall be appointed by the Board of Commissioners (Positions 2 & 3); County Manager or his/her designee (Position 4); Finance Director (Position 5); three (3) active employees of Fulton County (Positions 6, 7, & 8); and a member of the public who is a resident and taxpayer of Fulton County and not an active or retired public employee or the holder of any public office (Position 9).

Members of the Advisory Committee shall hold office for a term of four (4) years or until their successors have been duly qualified and appointed with exception as provided: Positions 2 & 3 shall be appointed by the BOC at its regular January meeting or as soon as practical. Such members shall hold office for a term of one year. The BOC shall appoint initial holders of Positions 2 & 3 as soon as practical following adoption of this resolution, and those initial holders shall serve until the January 2009 regular meeting of the BOC or until their successors are appointed by the BOC. The members holding positions 4 & 5 shall continue to serve as long as they hold the applicable office. Members serving in Positions 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 shall prepare a list of one or more individuals meeting the qualifications for Positions 6, 7, 8, and 9 and shall present that list to the BOC. The BOC shall appoint the initial holder of Position 6 for an initial term ending 12/31/08; the initial holder of Position 7 for an initial term ending 12/31/09; the initial holder of Position 8 for an initial term ending 12/31/10; and the initial holder of Position 9 for an initial term ending 12/31/11. No person holding Positions 6, 7, or 8 shall be disqualified from holding said position by reason of not being an active participant in the DC Plan until such time as that person's employment with Fulton County shall be finally terminated and all legal appeals from such termination shall have been exhausted or the time for making such appeals shall have expired. If any vacancy shall occur in Positions 6, 7, 8, or 9 by reason of the death, resignation, or disqualification of any individual holding any such position, then the remaining members of the Administrative Committee shall prepare a list of one or more individuals meeting the qualifications for that position and shall present that list to the Board of Commissioners. The Board of Commissioners shall then appoint an individual from that list to serve the balance of the unexpired term.

Term:

Members of the Administrative Committee shall hold office for a term of four (4) years or until their successors have been duly qualified and appointed. Positions 2 & 3 shall be appointed by the BOC at its regular January meeting or as soon as practical. Such members shall hold office for a term of one year.

Compensation: NONE Stipend:

Meetings: Quarterly

Contact(s): Ryan Avery, Pension Administrator

Department of Finance 141 Pryor Street, 7th Floor

Atlanta, GA 30303 404-612-7672

ryan.avery@fultoncountyga.gov

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	Position 3 (Commissioner) Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	12/31/2021
2	Mr. Ramsay Battin	Position 9 (Resident) Nominated By: Commissioner Lee Morris	12/31/2021
3	Mr. Don May	Position 7 (Employee) Nominated By: Commissioner Liz Hausmann	12/31/2022
4	Commissioner Lee Morris	Position 1 (Chair/Designee) Nominated By: Full Board Appointments	12/31/2022
5	Mrs. Anna Roach	Position 4 (County Manager) Nominated By:	
6	Mr. Jaunius Simokaitis	Position 6 (Employee) Nominated By: Full Board Appointments	12/31/2024
7	Dr. Kim Turner	Position 8 (Employee) Nominated By: Commissioner Liz Hausmann	12/31/2021
8	Ms. Sharon Whitmore	Position 5 (Chief Financial Officer) Nominated By:	