DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF FULTON COUNTY

Board Established by: County

Description:

On May 5, 2021, at it's Regular Meeting, The Board of Commissioners passed a resolution (Item #21-0337), amending Article 2, Divison Subpart B of the Fulton County Code of Resoltions to amend subsection 118-50 regarding membership and quifications of the Board of Directors of the Development Authority of Fulton County; and for other purposes.

There being determined and declared an urgent existing and future need for a development authority (as more fully described and defined in the Development Authorities Law (O.C.G.A. § 36-62-1 et seq.) to function in Fulton County, Georgia, the Board of Commissioners did on May 16, 1973, adopt a resolution declaring the need for a Development Authority and by Resolution in a Special Call Meeting, May 30, 1973, established the "Development Authority of Fulton County" for the purpose of developing and promoting for the public good and general welfare trade, commerce, industry and employment opportunities in said county thereby promoting the general welfare of its citizens.

Membership/Appointment:

At it's May 5, 2021, Regular Meeting, (Item#21-0037) the Board of Commissioners amended by revising subsection 118-50 entitled "Board of Directors, Membership and Qualifications," to provide as follows (a) The Board of Directors shall consist of a board of not less than seven and not more than nine directors to be appointed by resolution of the Fulton County Board of Commissioners. Each commissioner shall have one appointment which shall be submitted to the full Board of Commissioners for approval. Two additional members shall be a "at-large" members, with one member selected and nominated by the Fulton County Board of Education for final approval by the full Board of Commissioners, and the other representing member selected and nominated by the Atlanta Board of Education for final approval by the full Board of Commissioners; (b) The members of the Board of Directors shall be taxpayers residing in Fulton County; (c) The members of the Board of Directors shall not be officers or employees of Fulton County.

At the Special Call Meeting, May 30, 1973, the Board of Commissioners appointed seven (7) members to serve on this Authority. In 1992, two more members were added to this board bringing the total to nine (9) members appointed by the Board of Commissioners of Fulton County. (See Fulton County Code 13-6-3. State Law Reference: Ga. Code Ann., Sec., 69-1502). On July 1, 1992, an amendment to Ga.L. 1992, p.6 & 36 was passed that outlined the expiration of the current term of office of the first four members of the board of directors, and it also stated that the governing body of the county or municipal corporation shall elect successors to such members to serve for initial terms of two years and shall elect successors to the remaining members of the board for initial terms of four years. Thereafter, the terms of all directors shall be for four years. The terms of any directors added to the original seven directors shall be four years. If at the end of any term of office of any director a successor thereto has not been elected, the director whose term of office has expired shall continue to hold office until his or her successor is so elected.

Historically, each Commissioner has appointed one person to serve on this board. In addition, two persons are appointed and confirmed by the full Board of Commissioners.

Term:

Four (4) years, staggered

Compensation: YES Stipend: \$150 per meeting

Meetings: 4th Tuesday of the month at 2:00 p.m.

Contact(s):

Samir Abdullahi 141 Pryor St., SW, Suite 2052 Atlanta, GA, 30303 (O): (404)612-8120 ©: (404) 808-7995 samir.abdullahi@fultoncountyga.gov

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	Mr. Brandon Beach	District 2 Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	5/31/2025
2	The Honorable Mike Bodker	District 1 Nominated By: Commissioner Liz Hausmann	5/31/2025
3	Ms. Pinky Cole	District 7 Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	5/31/2025
4	Kwanza Hall	District 6 Nominated By: Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	5/31/2025
5	Mr. Kyle Lamont	District 4 Nominated By: Commissioner Natalie Hall	5/31/2023
6	Atty. Erica M. Long	Atlanta Board of Education Nominated By:	5/31/2025
7	Dr. Mike Looney	Fulton County Board of Education Nominated By:	5/31/2025
8	Mr. Thomas Tidwell	District 3 Nominated By: Commissioner Lee Morris	5/31/2023
9	Mr. Michel M Turpeau	District 5 Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington	5/31/2025